Dr. Ian Stiell and Caroline Andrew appointed to the rank of Distinguished University Professor by the University of Ottawa

OTTAWA, March 21, 2007 — The University of Ottawa is proud to announce that Dr. Ian Stiell and Caroline Andrew have been appointed Distinguished University Professors for 2006-2007.

Dr. Ian Stiell is a clinical epidemiologist at the Faculty of Medicine whose internationally recognized research focuses on health services in emergency medicine.  He holds a University Health Research Chair and is among the leaders responsible for creating the University of Ottawa’s Department of Emergency Medicine in 2003, department which he currently chairs.

Caroline Andrew’s professional career at the University of Ottawa spans more than 30 years.  A former Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences (1997 to 2005), she is currently a full professor at the School of Political Studies and the Director of the Centre on Governance.  She is a nationally recognized authority on urban and feminist studies as well as on cultural diversity.

Since 2000, the Distinguished University Professor title has been conferred annually to faculty members in recognition of unusual scholarly achievement, pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge and a solid teaching record. 

The University of Ottawa congratulates professors Caroline Andrew and Dr. Ian Stiell on this well-deserved honour.

Related Links

© University of Ottawa
For additional information, consult our list of contacts
Technical questions? peter.thornton@uOttawa.ca
Last updated: 2010.02.08