University of Ottawa receives $6.2M from Canada Research Chairs program

OTTAWA, November 24, 2010 — The University of Ottawa has received $6.2 million in funding from the Government of Canada for the renewal of 11 Canada Research Chairs.

The announcement marks the 10th year anniversary of the Canada Research Chairs Program, which enables Canadian universities to recruit and retain the brightest minds from Canada and around the world.

“Thanks to the Canada Research Chairs program, the University of Ottawa has attracted nearly 60 world-leading researchers over a span of ten years. This support allows these brilliant scientists to work in a state-of-the-art environment in order to solve problems and make new discoveries that will contribute to Canada’s competitive advantage and benefit all Canadians,” said Mona Nemer, University vice-president, research.

The 11 renewed chairholders are:

Kristin Baetz — Canada Research Chair in Chemical and Functional Genomics

Jocelyn Côté — Canada Research Chair in RNA Metabolism

Jeffrey Dilworth — Canada Research Chair in Epigenetic Regulation of Transcription

Ian Kerr — Canada Research Chair in Ethics, Law and Technology

Trevor Hall — Canada Research Chair in Photonic Network Technology

Howard Rundle — Canada Research Chair in Quantitative Evolutionary Genetics

Juan Scaiano — Canada Research Chair in Applied Photochemistry

Robert Screaton — Canada Research Chair in Apoptotic Signalling

Denise Spitzer — Canada Research Chair in Gender, Migration, and Health

Ravi Vedula — Canada Research Chair in Ultra fast Laser-Matter Interactions

Tom Woo — Canada Research Chair in Catalyst Modelling and Computational Chemistry

To see a full list of the Canada Research Chairs at the University of Ottawa, please visit the Canada Research Chairs website.

The University of Ottawa is committed to research excellence and encourages an interdisciplinary approach to knowledge creation, which attracts the best academic talent from across Canada and around the world.

© University of Ottawa
For additional information, consult our list of contacts
Technical questions?
Last updated: 2010.02.08